Water-play

Standard

10 round middle-aged ladies in a pool. I am nervously joining the aquafit class. Kim the instructor is slim, lycra clad and slightly hyper-active, there is a lot of ‘whee-ing’ and ‘whoooo-ing’.

And hour of doing an aerobics class on dry land would have me flat on my back clutching my arthritic knee and possibly inhaling oxygen. In the pool I feel light, limber and when we are swinging our legs in circles against the poolside, even balletic. I you know me, you are now laughing.

1. Aqua aerobics: although generally more low-impact than land-based aerobics, these classes have most of the fat-burning and endurance-building benefits that you get from other forms of aerobic activity. An aerobic water exercise of around 30 minutes will help you burn about 300 calories. Most classes will run for around 45 minutes and should include a warm-up, cool-down and stretching exercises. The classes will include things like jogging, kicking, jumping, squats, and dance movements, and may or may not be accompanied by music.
The main benefits of this type of exercise are:

  • Great for all fitness levels
  • Good for weight loss / fat burning
  • Builds strength and flexibility
  • Excellent cardio-respiratory exercise

http://health.ninemsn.com.au/fitness/exercise/691097/water-exercise

Not surprisingly water based exercise is great for people with the following conditions:

  • Arthritis
  • Back pain
  • Joint problems
  • MS
  • Soft-tissue injury
  • Cardiac patients
  • Obesity

As I can definitely tick numbers 1,3 and 7 I reckon I’m in the right place!

So this is another part of my plan for this year of getting healthy – having fun and exercise at the same time. Result!

I love these ladies they are a feisty, friendly fab bunch and the Wednesday morning club is now firmly in my diary. Now for a nice cup of tea!

One response »

  1. Yay for water aerobics! I tried it when I was pregnant and crippled by pelvic girdle pain. It was wonderful to be able to exercise without pain!

Leave a Reply

