Sufficient unto the day …

Standard

Loch Lomond

I know when a phrase or idea or event keeps coming up that maybe the universe is trying to get my attention. I admit sometimes I can be slow to respond but over the last few weeks I’ve been nudged more than once and I’m trying to take notice.

A colleague shared with me how she was coping with a particularly stressful time at work. She made a decision not to worry about things until the day she had to deal with them. So if a big meeting or presentation was coming up on a Thursday she would do the work but not allow herself to worry about it until that morning. She said, “I know I will worry on the day and then it will be oer, so why spoil the rest of my life?” And laughed.

Yesterday a 13-year-old girl said to me, ‘Why worry about things till they happen?” and “If it’s over, its done with”. She said it with such assurance.

Driving home today a phrase came into my head and I just had to look it up when I got home.

” sufficient unto the day is the evil thereof”. Not surprisingly this is from the King James version of the Bible.

Take therefore no thought for the morrow: for the morrow shall take thought for the things of itself: sufficient unto the day is the evil thereof. Matthew Ch6 v34

Being present and living in the moment are very much practices of mindfulness. This can be either a psychological strategy, a zen approach to life or both. 
If the problem has a solution, worrying is pointless, in the end the problem will be solved. If the problem has no solution, there is no reason to worry, because it can’t be solved.  Author Unknown 
And finally I am remembering that each day, every moment my thoughts create my tomorrow.

Louise Hay affirmation

One response »

Leave a Reply

