Fat Girl (a little bit) Slim

Standard

We have been eating well this week. I finally succumbed to my own planner tendencies and wrote out our dinner menus for the week. And its been great. I look every morning and know what we are having that night. I can get any last-minute ingredients if absolutely necessary , working on the basis that the less time I spend in shops the better ( more on that another time re domestic economy / boredom threshold, better things to do with my life). Now I know there are those of you out there who are so ahead of me on the domestic goddess front. Housewifely tendencies are not my strong suit. But I am actually enjoying this. I’m having fun in the kitchen, the food tastes great and the pounds are beginning to come off.

Tonight we had spicy turkey burgers with sweet potato wedges and a delicious ( though I say so myself) salsa. The recipes I’m using are out of Patrick Holfords Low GL book and they have been yummy.   

The losing weight plan ( do I use the D word or not?) is coming on. Making the shift to the fish/white meat/vegetarian end of the protein spectrum seems to be paying off, especially focusing on oily fish for those good fats. After a week of that and really making sure we have plenty of veggies with meals the scales are showing a shift ( yay!)

I can feel myself moving a bit more easily, I’m a bit less stiff in the mornings and I’m starting to look forward to exercise – especially swimming and aquafit.

There is a long way to go. This is a 2 year plan. But change is happening.

One response »

  1. Well done. 🙂

    I’m about to transition to an almost-vegan diet. It might take me a while to get the entire way there, but that’s the plan.

Leave a Reply

