If you got a tattoo what would it be?

Standard

Stars

For inspiration tonight I turned to The Daily Post and landed on this. Like most people I’ve contemplated getting a tattoo more than once but the long-term always puts me off. I’d like something pretty discreet like a butterfly or an angel, something that symbolises freedom or spirituality perhaps. I can’t see me going for the hard rock chick look or the full body extravaganza, although I do admit to a secret fascination for the artistry shown on day-time tv programmes like LA Ink. The problem with that is finding someone I would trust enough to paint permanent pictures on my body and cause me pain in the process.

A few months ago I was given a bracelet for my birthday, i talked about it here : charms

The charm I found to go on it was the Chinese symbol for health. This year that is hugely significant for me. It reminds me of what my focus is and why I don’t want to go back to feeling and being so unwell. Today it helped me refocus away from some sugar cravings. If I had a tattoo this year, I think that would be it.

Bracelet with health charm

But will it be the same next year, in 10 years time or when I’m 70? I don’t know.

We all know someone who had the name of the love of their life engraved on their arm at 18 only to find that maybe life has several loves. Likewise with favourite bands, football teams or celebrities. Firm young bodies look cute with tattoos but would a wrinkly, saggy me look quite so attractive? I doubt it.

I suppose one of the attractions of a tattoo is the whole permanency of the statement. I had a friend who died quite young several years ago. Before she died she was determined to have as much fun as possible while she still had the energy. One night she persuaded another friend that they would both go and get tattoos as a way to remember each other. They both went into the booths, but only one came out with the tattoo. And she is still living with it. It made us laugh and our friend lives on in that little rose, but then she would anyway.

Roses for Rita

Thinking about this sent me looking for tattoos that just might appeal, here are a couple just for the hell of it. But believe me, it ain’t gonna happen! Probably.

Angel Wings

Tree of hearts

Leave a Reply

