Nana’s kitchen

Standard

Bone handled knives Victorian cutlery, I have no idea what happened to the spoons or forks

1970’s Weight Watchers cook books every decade another diet. Each book tells a story of the history of food and nutrition. The concept of low-fat, “International Cooking’ featuring Beef Carbonade and Goulash – oh the excitement!

The BeRo cook book ( flour manufacturer from the 1950’s) – this is a slightly newer version of the one I remember My Granny having. She gave it to me when I left home in 1976 which was the year before she died. I used it for years but it somehow got lost maybe in one of several house moves. That makes me sad. Now my eldest and his girl use his nana’s BeRo book, that makes me happy

1950’s housewife aprons – they barely fit round my waist ( but they will, they will!) Who wouldn’t keep those?

Stainless steel tea set – one for eBay

A yogurt maker we had to keep this. For me and my girl this took us straight back to our 70’s self-sufficient, vegetarian, feminist, hippie-ish days. Why the feminism connects with yogurt Im not entirely sure right now, but I’ll work on that explanation. But something about the idea od making your own food, not being reliant on capitalism and the mass market. I remember the days in the 60’s when Mum introduced us to yogurt, it seemed very daring and ‘foreign’. “Go Mum” for being so cosmopolitan!

Lace doilies and serviettes/napkins oh the work that has gone into these. Hand made lace. Days of tea parties, cake stands and wearing a nice frock

3 button boxes full of buttons – I will say more about this another day. I can’t wait to get them all out and see what gems are in there. Photographic evidence will follow I promise

Sewing machine-I will never aspire to being the needlewoman my mother was. When I was little she made all my clothes and most of hers too. My Sindy (the English version of Barbie) had a whole new wardrobe one Christmas made by her. I smiled and said thank you and inside I was grumpy for the fancy boxed dress with little plastic stilettos and a handbag I had seen in Woolworth’s. Now my talents stretch to hemming and straight lines, but I can run up curtains or hem a skirt.

Several knitted tea-cosies- the teapot always had a cosy on it, the water was always boiling and the tea was always leaves. “One for the person, and one for the pot’ is the mantra that rings down the years both from Mum and from the Brownies where I did my ‘Hostess’ badge. I think my hostess skills may have ended there!

Every item tells a story. One room at a time.

 

One response »

  1. Julia, this is AMAZING! I loved it so much. 🙂

    And I’m all over yogurt and feminism. I made my own (yogurt, not feminism) before I moved here. When we got here, the shop stuff was so good and I got lazy Guess I’ll have to go back to making my own again in a few weeks. I wonder if I remember how!

Leave a Reply

