Happiness is an Attitude

Standard

Pick the day. Enjoy it – to the hilt. The day as it comes. People as they come… The past, I think, has helped me appreciate the present – and I don’t want to spoil any of it by fretting about the future.
Audrey Hepburn

I want to say I had a bad day. I’d like to curl up on the sofa under my blanket and not talk to anyone. I sort of want to cry. I do want to hibernate,isolate ruminate and think about what I ate!

But I am stepping away from that all or nothing thinking. Cue voiceover:

Step Away from that Negative Thinking Dude

So reviewing the day in a grown up, rational sort of way I find:

I was tired this morning, but I got up, had breakfast and saw son 4 off to school and exams, got dressed, packed lunch and water bottle, cuddled dog, took decaf coffee in vacuum cup and got off to work on time

Showed up for some training, wasn’t happy with the way it went so I was proactive, looked after myself and dealt with the issue appropriately afterwards

Got upset, cried, felt over emotional – gave myself a break and a bit of time out to feel better

Posted some boots I’d sold on eBay

Worked all afternoon, did a good job I think

Came home, checked in with son 4 ( exams good) sympathised re streaming hay fever, check in with son 2 ( had a great day in recording studio), heard son 3 on drums ( surmised all therefor ok there)

Made dinner ( savoury mince with onion, courgettes and sweetcorn and gravy  plus skin on mashed potatoes with butter)

Chatted with dear missus about grim and not-so-grim bits of day

Put feet up on sofa with dog and watched trashy but entertaining tv

Handed laundry basket to grateful pregnant lady from Freecycle

Decided that curling up for an early night with my head under the covers and my book was ok

So I look back at the day and maybe 10% was unpleasant. Isn’t that often the case but it can spoil the whole thing?!

Here are just a couple of pearls of wisdom by some wiser people than me:

The only thing that could spoil a day was people. People were always the limiters of happiness except for the very few that were as good as spring itself.
Ernest Hemingway

A positive attitude may not solve all your problems, but it will annoy enough people to make it worth the effort.  ~Herm Albright, quoted in Reader’s Digest, June 1995

Happiness is an attitude.  We either make ourselves miserable, or happy and strong.  The amount of work is the same.  ~Francesca Reigler

Leave a Reply

