Summer Solstice

Standard

Stonehenge

It is Midsummers Day. Summer Solstice. The Longest Day. It’s all about Light, Sun and Celebration. From the dawn of time it seems we humans have marked and celebrated the return of the sun. It gives us life, light and warmth. Without it we would have no food growing in the fields, no harvest. Without the sun I feel miserable. The light cheers me so much that I know I need to make sure every day that I get outside and let it seep into my bones and brain. In the winter I use a light to top up my SAD days but it’s not quite the same.

I like to notice the solstice at summer and winter. To mark those turning points in the year. To remember what has gone in the last 6 months, let go of what I no longer need and remember to welcome in that which I wish to attract. It is a quiet way to be centered

At this time of year people gather at sacred sites and places of beauty, hills and stones. Stonehenge is a familiar sight on the news at Midsummer. Pagans and hippies, travellers and druids are attracted to its Ley lines and old spirituality. I have never been at midsummer. I don’t want to go then when I imagine it is heaving with people and cameras and newscasters. But I have been at other times both there and to Avebury, a circle of stones of truly ancient times. Both have blessed me with their steady presence, the energy of thousands of years hovers around you. I know it sounds fanciful but then again I don’t see how it could feel any different. I have felt the same in other places of worship, from lofty cathedrals to a tiny shrine to Our Lady of Guadeloupe. The concentrated essence of prayer, where human spirit touches the divine is always there.

So at midsummer I send you blessings wherever you may be, and sun and light and peace.

As the sun spirals its longest dance, Cleanse us. As nature shows bounty and fertility. Bless us. Let all things live with loving intent. And to fulfill their truest destiny.” Wiccan blessing

May the sun shine bright on your joyous days,
And the rain refresh you through peaceful nights;
May summer show you God’s wondrous ways,
And prepare you for heaven’s great delights.
From Irish-American Blessings & Prayers by Andrew M. Greeley.
Image Credit: Blessings of Summer by Thomas Kinkade

Leave a Reply

