The Harry Potter Generation

Standard

thecia.com.au

Never mind the Baby Boomers and Generation X, my kids are the Harry Potter Generation and as the story reader who became as delighted and in awe of the books as they were, I guess I am sort of that generation too. We waited in eager anticipation for the new copies of each book. After the first two I ordered at least three copies at a time from amazon on pre-order. As they grew to read the books for themselves we couldn’t wait but had to each have our own copy. Summers were a joy of Harry and Hermione and Ron. Mrs Weasley was my magical role model, how I would love her skill with a wand in the kitchen and for tidying up the house.

harrypotter.wikia.com

Each film we have seen together, a family outing, usually the preview showing or on the first day. My eldest though, refused to come. Having seen the first film he retired in disgust, it could never live up to the books and the wonderful readings by Stephen Fry that he listened to nightly. For years after bedtime stories were past he would listen till he fell asleep.  
On Tuesday I went with sons 3 and 4 to see the final film, The Deathly Hallows Part 2. I almost didn’t want it to come. It certainly feels like an end of an era. As they are now 18 and 16 its rare to find a film we want to see together at the cinema. Of course they want to go with their friends. But this was special, this was Harry Potter, and that made it a family occasion for the true believers. I thought it was pretty good, I liked they way they did the ending and it was fun to see how the characters had grown up too.
But the best bit is that the books are still here. It’s a while since I’ve read them so I can feel an HP session coming up, although I’m disappointed that I can’t yet read them on my kindle.
What is it about HP that caught the imagination of millions? Good and Evil of course, the wonderful fantasy of school stories and every childs dream of living away from home in a magical place. And then of course there is the magic, the humour, the story of love and loyalty, of sacrifice and bravery. It is truly epic in its breadth and storytelling. JK Rowling you are a very special writer and I thank you for the joy you have given me and my family over the last 10 years or so.    

4 responses »

  1. I am an avid HP fan! My children were grown by the time the first book hit the stands. But a young 12-year-old girl (daughter of a dear friend) asked if I would read the first book and then “discuss it” with her. The teacher in me could not refuse. ND read the book, then passed it on to me, and then the book was passed to others. Lively discussions ensued as we eagerly awaited book #2, and then #3, and by that time we were each purchasing (presale) our own copies of the book. Wonderful friendships were enriched and cemented because of HP. We were all sad to reach the end of the series and I think actually went through a type of mourning. (In fact, would love to read stories about the adult HP’s family, adventures, and the rest of the “cast” too. Could a new series ever measure up to the original? I don’t know. Hard to imagine.) I have often thought of reading the whole set again. My adult son who poopooed the HP fanaticism, finally purchased a set and read it from beginning to end (stopping for food, sleep, and potty) in one fell swoop when he and his wife were expeciting their first, and he quickly became a hooked HP fan! Then I got to have discussions all over again with someone coming from a different perspective! I never saw even one of the movies because i knew there was no way possible for the movie to measure up to reading the books themselves.

    Your post triggered some wonderful memories of a modern children’s classic! Thanks ever so much. 🙂

    • I love the way they appealed across generations. I just see the films as separate from the books and manage it that way! But I can read the books over and over. I think a series about the adults would be wonderful, but I’m not sure it would work to do more?

  2. I just started reading the books (on the second book right now). My youngest son was too old for them when they came out, but he’s decided (at his wife’s advice) to start reading them this summer too. It’s the first time in a long time that we’ve read books together. I’m enjoying both (the books and reading with my son again).

    I’m going to have a marathon session of watching the movies once I finish the books. They ought to all be out on DVD by that time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

