No Sunday voices please

Standard

Mum adored Joyce Grenfell and this was her favourite. When I was a young Mum with four boys she used to say I sounded just like her. This reminds me of her sense of fun, her being a teacher and of being a Nana.

This poem also by Grenfell says it well for both of us:

If I should die before the rest of you
Break not a flower nor inscribe a stone
Nor, when I’m gone, speak in a Sunday voice,
But be the usual selves that I have known.
Weep if you must
Parting is hell.
But life goes on.
So sing as well.   Joyce Grenfell

2 responses »

  1. I’ve read through your posts about your mum, and your beautiful writing moves me to tears. It really feels like you write straight from the heart and I get a feeling of who she was. I’m so sorry for your loss.
    Love Lisa

Leave a comment